h1

Homeschooling

July 25, 2007

The majority of my local friends seem to think kids who are home schooled have poor social skills and are “weird” . I find this an odd observation for my friends to make being as how they are all rather odd people (myself included) and most of them don’t seem to have particularly good social skills. I have not known many people who where home schooled
so i can’t say how they seem but i have known many people who went to public and or private schools and
it really didn’t seem to help them at all as far as social skills go. I think my child will be lucky to not be a bit weird consider that myself and Papa Mouse are certainly odd.

I sometimes wonder if having tis baby will mean that I am going to lose many of my friends. I am not worried about it since the friendships that i would loose seem to be drifting apart already and have been for a while. It does make me a bit sad though. Many of my friends seem to be very mainstream and to have very mainstream ideas about the world and I am a Mouse who makes my own path and doesn’t follow the crowd.

3 comments

  1. It is a melancholy thought…but hopefully you will meet more and more friends who are more supportive.

    I have known a lot of homeschooled kids, but most of them were homeschooled in hyper-religious ways. That warped them, but it had nothing to do with the homeschooling. The other homeschooled kids I’ve known have been more outgoing (more likely to speak up with adults around), more interested in reading and learning, and just nice kids.

    I feel very confident that they way you ‘school’ your kids will be nurturing and empowering.


  2. I feel like maybe my comment was confusing. I meant that the hyper-religious way these kids were raised is what made them dysfunctional (not that the homeschooling did that).

    And when I said this: “The other homeschooled kids I’ve known have been more outgoing…”

    I meant they were more outgoing, etc. compared to most kids who go to schools.

    I hope that makes more sense! 🙂


  3. no worries treehousejukebox i understood what you meant and i suspect i have very few readers besides yourself at the moment. thats part of what comes from having this so anonymous i can’t ask my friends (most of whom would be offended by this blog) to link to it!



Leave a comment